Graduate Dean’s Award for Excellence in Research and Creative Work Competition

The Graduate Dean’s Award recognizes up to 9 graduate students annually for their overall academic record and the outstanding quality of their research or creative activity at the University. Doctoral and master’s students in good academic standing from all disciplines are encouraged to apply.

Two primary criteria are used to judge applicants: (1) the overall strength and impact of the applicant’s achievements in research or creative work as a graduate student at Syracuse University, and (2) the strength and impact of the applicant’s proposed presentation of research or a creative work.

The 2024 Graduate Dean’s Award recipients are:

  • Fatima Dobani (Clinical Psychology)
  • Kellan D.L. Head (Philosophy)
  • Jingjing Ji (Chemical Engineering)
  • Qingyang Liu (Human Development and Family Science)
  • Jessie Codell McClanahan (Studio Arts)
  • Emily Pifer (Composition and Cultural Rhetoric)
  • Ashley Schiros (Clinical Psychology)
  • Ryan Wen (Mass Communications)
  • Julia Zeh (Biology)

Awardees receive $500 and make a 5-minute presentation on their work as part of an award symposium.

Honorable mention:

  • Aatif Abbas (Philosophy)
  • Mary Elizabeth Helander (Social Science)
  • Yushan Liu (Film)
  • Abigail H. Long (Composition and Cultural Rhetoric)
  • Samantha Maguire (School Psychology)
  • Teresa Ott (Creative Writing)
  • Ashley N. Prow (Earth Sciences)
  • Laura Streib (Earth Sciences)